TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Best Oil for GT350

Hi folks!,

I'm new to Shelby ownership and pick up my 2018 Shelby GT350 this coming Thursday. I am committed to providing the best preventive maintenance I can, and intend to perform an oil change as soon as I take delivery. I will be using Amsoil 5w50 for the service, as well as a Motorcraft filter. Any thoughts regarding use or experience with Amsoil? I will also monitor oil usage during the life of the car as I have heard that some owners have experienced excessive oil burn. Is this at all normal? It seems there instances are few and far between. 

10 hours ago, twobjshelbys said:

Why not use what the owner's manual recommends?  With all the stories about oil consumption on the 350s I'd stay with Ford products. 

Rings need to seat, other parts need to work harden. I'm an old mechanic that only knows what you can read in a web search on these engines. I say use oil that is no slicker than Ford installed, get the rings seated or you will use oil. I use full synthetic after 20k miles.

Leave the Fram and other low quality filers for use on push mowers.

Don’t change the oil right away, as has been mentioned. 

Drive the car (under 5K RPM’s) for 500 miles. During that period, keep rowing through the gears....utilizing a full range of RPM’s. And don’t use the CC during that period. Let her warm up after every cold start before you head out (should always do that anyway). And then follow the owners manual (as Tony mentioned) using ONLY Motorcraft oil and filters. 

My car is a ‘16, I followed that procedure to the letter and the car doesn’t burn a drop. 

Good luck and enjoy!! 

BB

edit- Oh, and welcome to the Shelby family. :salute: 

Edited by BIKEBOY

15 minutes ago, Thomas Stetson said:

BikeBoy,

Thanks! I will follow these suggestions regarding the car. I guess most of you do not like the coolant overflow tank. I find it ridiculous looking. Have you swapped out the plastic tank for the Shelby tank?