TEAM SHELBY FORUM

How much oil should a GT350 burn?

1320lol

Newbie here.

I'm a bit concerned that my GT350 (17) has gone through 2.5 quarts

of oil in the first 3750 miles. Having owned a few performance cars

from new, I'm wondering if I have a problem.

I've looked through the documentation and can't locate an oil

consumption amount that FORD states is acceptable.

Is this an issue?

Thanks,

A.

Edited by 1320lol

There is a lot of discussion about oil leaks and oil cooler issues in the GT350 section of Team Shelby. .Either way, If I were you I would:

1. check under the car for an oil leak.

2. Take it to the dealer immediately for an inspection.

Maybe this link will help:

http://www.teamshelby.com/forums/index.php/topic/92126-gt350-engine-oil-cooler-recall/

Thanks for the reply.

The car is a daily driver and is only parked in

two locations for any length of time. No sign

of a leak.

Does Ford provide consumption numbers for

the car?

Thanks,

A.

No and its just not Ford. Manufacturers rarely if ever define what excessive oil consumption is but what you want to do is take the car into the dealership so that you will have documentation that you "complained" back in November 2016 about this issue. This way if you ever have a problem, even a problem that occurs after your warranty ends, you can go back and show that you "complained" about this issue which has now become a bigger problem. Lets hope not on the bigger problem part.

Its all about documentation, be sure to keep all paper receipts. Do not rely solely on the manufacturers service database.

Steve

It's possible that the factory shorted the fill

but I would have thought they would catch

this with the PDI.

I'm kicking myself for not checking this after

I Picked it up. This is not something I've ever

thought about with a new car.

I'm going to take it in as suggested. I'll also

figure out exactly how many miles I'm getting

per quart.

Thanks for the feedback.

A.