TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Ball Joints/Control Arms replacement at 23K miles????

I am hoping someone can help me out, I brought my car in for its yearly oil change/inspection and I am also finally getting the airbag recalls complete.  While doing the inspection they said they noticed the Front Ball Joints were a little loose and they said it would be $1150 to change them because you have to change the ball joints and control arms at the same time.  I told them not to do anything and to skip the inspection.  Here is my question, does this make sense for a car with 23K miles?  Maybe the age of the car has something to do with it?  One more question if I am going to replace them is this an opportunity to upgrade?  I am not an expert by any means as far as this is concerned.  I am debating taking the car to Tasca so I can get this done, I also have a Watts Link that needs to be installed so they could do that as well, Tasca has done everything to my car besides yearly oil changes, I trust them more then my local dealer.

Any advice or information you could provide would be appreciated.

Thank you!!!

Edited by carnut12

Shop rate ($120/hr) is what kills you. We got a quote of $2100 and change to replace both lower control arms and outer tie rod ends on our '03 Cobra at our local Ford dealership . Bought the inner and outer tie rods and lower control arms and did it in the driveway. Then got a $100 alignment. Handles fine again.

Clarence

The original 18mm ball joints are 1mm too small and wear fast. New ball joints/control arms from Ford are updated to the correct 19mm size, but only sold as a set.

What you need is bumpsteer kit (tie rod ends) to correct the "lowered" geometry; to level the the compression angle to the proper position. And extended ball joints.

https://www.americanmuscle.com/mustang-bumpsteer-kits-0510.html

I also suggest doing a search here with "bumpsteer" for loads of info.

This "upgrade" makes a huge difference in the handling.