TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Replace brake pads and fluid for track days?

Poppadeizal

I've never tracked a car before. Ive found a place to got to with a reasonable price. But now I am wondering. What don't I know? Total newby. I'm gonna show up all excited and ready to learn and find out there's twenty things everybody there is already prepared for and I have no idea.

Common my shelby brothers! Any advise to make this first track day not miserable? 

After. Chances are your pads, rotors and fluids are fine if all you've done is daily driving.  Then you get to drive on new ones until the next track day. 

And if you've never tracked before, chances are you'll be fine even after.  Try hard as you might you're probably not going to wear a set out on your first track day.

Edited by twobjshelbys

I say this from experience.  At Bondurant they watch the brakes and give you feedback on your use.  On the 4 day class noone needed changes.  On my advanced class I got 1 day (out of a car that had 1 day before me) before they changed the pads.   As you get more experience you brake later and harder. 

And I'm completely inexperienced. I'm planning on going to Sebring. I've been reading about guys saying 80 to 90 percent. Im thinking 75? and no more. 

At least for the first time out. Last thing I want is to damage the nicest car I've ever owned.

On 5/31/2018 at 3:03 PM, Secondo said:

You'l need to change your brake fluid to a higher boiling point racing-type DOT4 or higher fluid. Motul RBF600 is a good fluid. If you don't, you risk losing your brakes from the repeated hard braking you'll do at the track.

^^^^^^^^^ This!

Noticeably better bite! DOT3 is squishy compared to DOT4, even during daily use.