TEAM SHELBY FORUM

08 or 09 KR? VIP Edition?

alapril7

I'm new to the Team Shelby Forum, and want to buy a 08 or 09 Vista Blue w/Silver Stripes KR, just didn't know if the 08 being a 40th Anniversary Edition is considered more collectible than the 09 year? Additionally, I've seen the phrase "VIP Edition, 1 of 20 produced" stated on several KRs for sale, what constitutes a "VIP Edition?" Thanks in advance for helping the latest newbie of Team Shelby! Former owner of a 65 squareback, 66 Fastback, and 69 Mach I.

I'm new to the Team Shelby Forum, and want to buy a 08 or 09 Vista Blue w/Silver Stripes KR, just didn't know if the 08 being a 40th Anniversary Edition is considered more collectible than the 09 year? Additionally, I've seen the phrase "VIP Edition, 1 of 20 produced" stated on several KRs for sale, what constitutes a "VIP Edition?" Thanks in advance for helping the latest newbie of Team Shelby! Former owner of a 65 squareback, 66 Fastback, and 69 Mach I.

Well if it is the 2009 owners can counter that sentiment with lower production compared to the 2008 KR.

The idea of collectible is subjective and only time will tell if any of the modern era Shelbys will be considered “collectible” or appreciate like the old ones did. To worry about which car is more “collectible” is folly even if it is based on so called “rarity” because even rarity doesn’t always translate in to desirability or future appreciation. Most any Modern SAI Shelby since the 2007/8 Shelby GT ended production are now built in limited numbers and the amount of 1 of 1s and 1 of 2,3,4 etc is fairly common now since most Shelby built at SAI are now built to order.