TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Any thoughts?

Does anyone have a preferred wax that works well? I am new to the Shelby world but not the Mustangs. This is my third and have had the same thing on all three. About three or four days and I have film that builds up on the inside of the rear window. Annoying and hard to clean off. Any thoughts as to what it may de caused from and remedies? Does anyone have a preferred motor oil for Shelby's. I used to use Royal Purple in my 2014 GT but they don't make a 5w50. I was considering using Amsoil. Any thoughts?

Thanks for any info you can provide!

Turtle wax ice paste 2 coats. that's after a clay bar job. then use the ice detailer to keep clean with the ice spray wax every 4 or 5 times. should get you through a year then clay bar again. if black paint get a pro detail every two years to get rid of microscratches.

Edited by twobjshelbys

twobjshelbys! That is exactly what I've done since new on my very early 07. Very first and foremost, I make a paste of ice cold water and baking soda. Simply with a cold water rag, dab the baking soda paste on the leading edges of your car where any bugs might be....NO NEED TO SCRUB, just dab it on, let is stand about 5 minutes and gently go over any bugs with a wet rag, it will just fall off. Then,

A good wash with DAWN, yes DAWN to remove all the wax, and JETA or a good kerosene lightly on tar to remove it (and it does a great job on tires with a scrub brush, and leaves a very nice old school satin sheen to them, shhhhhh old car show trick), keep it inside overnight; then a very leisurely clay bar the next morning. Let the clay bar and liquid do the work, take your time the first couple of times, it will pay off.