TEAM SHELBY FORUM

How to spend $5-7K

Al d

I'm looking for advice since I'm new to Fords and GT500's. I want to take a new to me 2008 stock low mile GT500 and pump it up. I have $5-7K to spend. I won't be taking it to the track. HP and traction are the most important. I don't mind lowering it a little (1"), but only if it will make a big difference. It will be a Sunday driver only. I'm leaning toward the following, but haven't priced it out with any shops yet.;

Cold air intake, Pulley upgrade with tune.

Clutch/flywheel upgrade since I have the original.

Control arms

Shifter upgrade

Royal Purple Tranny fluid

Oil Separator

Thermostat

Am I missing any important upgrades? Is anything on the list not important? What else can I afford with my budget?

All opinions welcome.

Thanks in advance.

I don't track my car, but the two biggest improvements I've made are the FRPP TVS & utilizing the '13/'14 cf ds. These two changes greatly improved the performance if the car. I am still running the stock clutch and except for the Reische thermostat my cooling system is stock. Looking back I would've skipped swapping to a smaller pulley on the stock Eaton & went straight for the TVS. GL, Duane.

I have had some interesting performance cars, but never a supercharger before. I have always worked with naturally aspirated engines, so this is all new to me. One of the attractions to this car was the easy cheap HP upgrade with the pulley and cold air kit. Is the TVS the entire Supercharger? or just an upgraded part?. What type of gains would you expect to see swapping it out. Are you suggesting this for bang for the buck HP, or for reliability? Or something else?

Edited by Al d