TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Soft Water Wash Ok?

I have the same system here in Ontario and I have been washing my Super Snake since 2007 with no issues at all. Just ensure that you remove the water afterwards with either an air blower or soft shammy. My car shine's like it's still brand new.

I have well water with a hardness factor that is off the scale! I am now in the process of buying a water softener because the hard water is just hellacious on my black paint!!!! I cannot wash the entire car then go back and dry it. If I do that I have to wax it.... even detail spray will not remove the water spots.

My house has a hose bib connected to the soft water used inside the house. Is there enough salt in soft water to be harmful to the Car?

A proper hooked up water softerner does not supply cold water to the kitchen tap & outside tap , why because one is needed for drinking water & you don`t want to water your lawn with soft water.

A proper hooked up water softerner does not supply cold water to the kitchen tap & outside tap , why because one is needed for drinking water & you don`t want to water your lawn with soft water.

I believe that is a matter of choice not necessity. Local laws may dictate which way to go.

I believe that is a matter of choice not necessity. Local laws may dictate which way to go.

Ya your right but most plumbers will tell you how it should be hooked up, but who would want to water your grass with soft water the unit would have to cycle to keep up & your salt bill would be pretty huge.

Ya your right but most plumbers will tell you how it should be hooked up, but who would want to water your grass with soft water the unit would have to cycle to keep up & your salt bill would be pretty huge.

I don't want to hijack the thread but, I don't water my grass, that's why we have rain..... I use the outside hose bib to wash my car, and the hard water is causing me more in stress then the cost of salt!