TEAM SHELBY FORUM

First Time On Track!

Shelby Nick

I am checking off one of those bucket list items, and finally getting a chance to track my car at the Bash! I plan to just have fun and take it easy. It is my first time on any track, so I hope I can get a ride along with an experienced person. The car has 15k miles on it, an adjustable pan hard bar, 20 inch wheels, and the SC package. I understand I should change out the oil to 5-30 weight so I will do that. Is there anything else I am missing? Any comments would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Nick

ALSO, given the cost of track time, take extra brake pads and tools to change them if you want to be sure you won't have to end the day early due to worn pads. this isn't as critical if you get good new track pads for the event.

Nick,

My suggestion is to have your car looked over just before you go to the Bash. Tires, brakes, filters, and fluids should all be fresh before driving it to Vegas and then onto the track. Once at the track you should have brought an extra quart of engine oil, new brake fluid, new set of front brake pads, one man brake bleeder bottle, 11mm or whatever size the bleeder screw is on your car wrench, tire pressure gauge, torque wrench, wheel lug socket, and CASH. The situations that most people face when going to the track are; brake pedal fade, excessive tire wear, needing to buy gas. If you're able to bleed your brake fluid, fill the car with gas, rotate the tires or even reset the tire pressures and keep the oil level up in the engine then most the simple things are covered. As long as you keep the car on the track there shouldn't be any cause for other things. There will be others there that bring more so if needed - ask and make friends. JMO