TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Coolant Decision

Hey Guys,

I was just wandering what kind of coolant you guys are using. I have heard good things and bad things about various brands of coolant. I just wanted to see what everyone was using and their experience with their brand of coolant.

Also I was wandering what the correct way to do a radiator flush. This is my first time doing the flush as I had shops do them for me (but now that I have a Shelby, its kind of hard to let a shop touch a Shelby if you know what I mean). So this Is what I read and heard.

I already have the fluids drained except what's in the engine.

" Once fluids are drained, take a couple gallons of distilled water and fill up the radiator and resevior to the fill line. Than turn car on and let car get up to operating temperatures which will allow the water to go through the engine and clean everything else out all while blasting the heat. Than drain water. (can flush distilled water as many times as you would like) Once water is drained, take full concentrated coolant and pour about 50% in along with 50% water to achieve a 50/50 ratio. Being a little off is ok. Start the car up again with heat and let car get to operating temps. Look for any leaks. Drive about 100 miles and top off coolant if necessary. "

Is that correct? Would appreciate any feedback.

Also how do you get the air bubbles out?

Thank you for your time,

Francis

Wow close CSM number to me. Anyway ok cool. I drained the radiator and the coolant is green and looks clean. I think the dealership may have flushed the coolant before I got the car. I flushed into a a brand new container. I might just reuse that coolant and whatever amount I lost I'll top off with prestone. Either that or I just fill the whole radiator up with 50/50 prestone coolant since there is already good coolant left throughout the engine. All that needs, to be filled is radiator and reservoir. Would either be ok or is it once you drain you can never use again ?