TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Track Driving Techniques/car Control/tuning

Triumph

***Disclaimer*** I am by no means an expert on track driving. In a quest to learn as much as I can about driving (improving my lap times) I have attended several HPDE events. (plus it’s a blast!) Unfortunately the majority of driving instructors have encountered cannot explain how to drive faster other than teaching the “line” for that particular course. And even fewer can diagnose real time your mistakes and explain what you are doing wrong and how to improve.

My co-worker that introduced me to track driving also instructs. He teaches his students to be able to self identify what they are doing wrong/right and what the feedback their car is telling them to be able to improve. He put together the following information that he hands out to his student drivers. It has been so helpful to me that I thought it would make for a good post for other aspiring track day drivers.

Driving Techniques

Big picture (Things to know and apply)

1.Visualize the track and where the car needs to end up – Visualize plan of attack/line ahead of where you are – this makes it possible to hit your reference points consistently. (for example know what turn is coming up next so you can plan for it instead of reacting to it)

2. It is better to enter slower into a corner to be able to get back on the gas sooner and harder than it is to enter a corner faster and have to delay accelerating out of the corner (missing the apex and not being able to start the unwind at the apex)

3. Using the following reference points can maximize (fine tune) lap time improvements:

- Brake point

- Turn-in point (turn-in setup point – at correct speed and correct place on track)

- Apex point (note: there are double apex corners)

- Accel point

- Track-out point

4. The longer the corner the more reference points may be needed between the 4 key reference points

- Braking

- Turn-in

- Apex

- Accelerating