TEAM SHELBY FORUM

New Member In Vt

JayVT

Hi guys..I'm a newbie and am pleased to have found this resource.

Long story short, I hope. Visited a Ford dealer last year (summer 2013) and was inquiring about a boss 302, this from a guy who has never owned a Mustang. Salesman said "we don't have one but we do have a GT 500". I had no clue what a GT 500 was but knew the Shelby story pretty well. He offered to show me the car, it was in the showroom. I was awestruck....triple black, SVT and track pack, I was bitten. Cost $69K, here's the kicker. They had put another add on price tag of an additional $12,000.00 above the window sticker.....they wouldn't come off of it no matter how hard I tried. Told me all the dealers were doing it, I called BS on that one and walked away. Sorry, just couldn't drop that kind of dough. Been looking ever since for a new triple black beauty without glass roof and nav.

Fast forward to Thursday of last week, before Memorial day weekend . An internet search by zip showed a GT500 at a Ford dealer @ 40 miles away. called the dealership, talked w/ the sales rep. You guessed it, triple black with SVT and track pack, 2.5 miles. Wife says "go for it you're just gong to miserable if you don't" (great wife)...So, being a proud veteran of the United States Navy, I walked into the dealer on Memorial day weekend and signed the papers. It's mine, finally! I couldn't be any happier at this time. I'm picking it up this Saturday and the dealership is going to let me drive it out of the showroom. I'll post some pictures for you guys soon.

As a short aside.....my father, who has since passed away, was a Ford salesman his whole life, he retired in Florida doing fleet sales. I never once purchased a car from him. Only ever owned 1 new Ford and that was a Ranger in 1992. Figured I wouldn't beat up my own dad for the sales commission and I think he respected me for that. Well dad....I finally got that new Ford...I only wish you were here to share it with me.