TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Drag Racing Rear Wheel Size Question

NMAv

I'm really new to the world of drag racing, previous experience limited to racing in high school between red lights. Can someone explain to me why one would select to run a 15 x 10 wheel vs a 18 x 10? I've read about side wall and better hook up and all but I'm not getting it. Trying to decide what rear wheels to get for my car. With my suspension Griggs recommends 18 x 10.5 for road racing, doesn't mention drag racing. I've read where some folks have put 15 inch Racestars on the back of their cars with the Griggs suspension and the 315 kit and that works. I don't want to screw anything up and I don't want to break anything. Also want to have the best chance of hooking up the rear wheels as possible. So looking for advice.