TEAM SHELBY FORUM

oil leak anyone?

I have 6000 miles, no problems mechanically. Went to my dealer for an oil change and was told I have a small leak in the front cover seal and need to have it repaired. They want the car for one full week to do this! Of course, I'd document the milage etc. I am suspicious. Any thoughts? I plan to have it inspected from another dealer and see what they say.

I have 6000 miles, no problems mechanically. Went to my dealer for an oil change and was told I have a small leak in the front cover seal and need to have it repaired. They want the car for one full week to do this! Of course, I'd document the milage etc. I am suspicious. Any thoughts? I plan to have it inspected from another dealer and see what they say.

Looks like you have posted in the GT500 forum instead of SGT forum, more people with same car over there. Edit: sorry about that mistake. Did you see the oil leak yourself?

I am a Ford Master Tech and this seems a little extreme to me.

I could see the repair being a Day or Maybe Two depending on the Position and severity of the Leak. As far as the Week at the dealership, they are probably doing this to help out with the Scheduling issues the Dispatcher may have.

I agree that you should take the car home and have the dealership call you when the parts are in, prior to this it would be good for them to rack the car and show you the leak.

If the leak is present and verified by you, have them order the parts and then set up an appointment for you to leave the car for a day or two for the repair.

My Shelby will be in the shop for a week for a Tran’s replacement but I have a great relationship with the dealership and trust them completely.

I hope this helps and good luck.

post-8247-1179448648_thumb.jpg

post-8247-1179448648_thumb.jpg

Tell them to get the gaskets and then you'll bring it in.

Scott