TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Safe 800 rwhp with add ons possible ?

Micho2011

i admit i'm no expert on this topic, but here's what i believe... 800 rear wheel horsepower equates to at least 900 flywheel horsepower (at a minimum). to get there, you'll need extra fuel delivery capacity (stock pumps and injectors aren't enough) along with increased air intake capacity. so you'll need a serious blower putting a shit ton of pressure through the engine. that will cause an increase in heat production, which will require improved cooling on an already heat-soak prone engine. assuming you reach those kind of numbers, you will need an upgraded clutch to transmit that kind of power to a drive shaft that must be upgraded to also handle that kind of power, which will then require seriously sticky tires to put that power to the ground, which will then require sub-frame connectors to reduce the amount of chassis flex you will experience with that kind of power. to be safe, you may want to rebuild the entire engine with a sturdier crankshaft, rods, pistons, cams, etcetera. and there's a chance the tranny may need to be upgraded, as well, depending on how you intend to drive the car. and we haven't even begun to talk about suspension components or brakes. shelby american has already dealt with this issue with the "Shelby 1000" so you can probably read up on that to better understand what they had to do to achieve it.

You want that much hp and you want your car to last? Prepare to spend just as much as you did for the car in aftermarket parts, wth do you think I'm doing, I'm one of the first to ask this in the site... I can send you the link to it if you want for what 8 or so people said.

You should be able to get by with around 700rwhp or so, with a stock motor that is mostly for street use and occasional strip use.

With the mods you have listed and at a conservative altitude, you will be not too far off of that, especially if you have a larger throttle body as well.