TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Winter Tires

I have no experience with them, but am considering the new Michelin Pilot Spot A/S 3. While I have no intention of driving the car through inclement weather, we get a significant number of sunny and dry (but cold) days throughout the winter months. These tires APPEAR well-suited to such use.

While not running them on a '13/'14 Shelby, this 2009 owner seems happy with them.

I am running Conti DWS 275 40 19 all seasons on 19 * 9 Ford Racing GT track wheels on all four corners. I never drive in snow, but do drive in below 40 degree weather. Excellent tires, plus you can rotate front to rear.

I have Pilot Super Sports on the factory 19" (275 40 19) and 20" (295 35 20) wheels for summer. Great tires. Those factory Goodyears are terrible.....

I need winter tires for my 2014 Shelby. 20" rear, 19" front. Any suggestions?

I too drive my 13 during the winter in Md. I drive only on clear days with no snow or salt, etc. Obviously, the factory summer tires are hockey pucks in temps less than 60 degrees. They are simply dangerous. There are about three best choices (my personal opinion) of "all season" tires for our specific cars: Continental DWS's, Michelin Pilot Sport A/S (or the brand new A/S 3) and the tire I currently ride on , the Toyo Proxes 4 Plus. All are excellent tires and give you the necessary stopping and accelerating power needed to drive in cooler temps. It's more a financial decision. I have the DWS's on my Ford Fusion and the wife's BMW 535I and they are outstanding and extremely competent in wet conditions. I went with the Toyo's because of price, and they matched the front size and even though the rears are 275/35/20's, they have the same tread width as the supposedly larger stock 285/35/20 Goodyears. The Toyo's are great tires; quiet, and provide superior all weather traction, year round. I'm very pleased with them and highly recommend them.