TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Alcoa caps

shelby fever

Ok I got a set of the new 50 years and don't like that the caps are plastic. And had some ideas if the stock ones would fit.

Ok I got a set of the new 50 years and don't like that the caps are plastic. And had some ideas if the stock ones would fit.

The only ones that were available from SPP were the tiffany snake with Shelby in red across them & they stop suppling them when they quit making the Alcoas. They are also plastic made by Scott Drake. If you are thinking of getting rid of them let me know as a friend of mine is thinking of buying a set. I think the 50Th `s are made by Scott Drake.

This type of cap has always had the same plastic "carrier", just the emblems have changed (Super Snake, plain Alcoa, all of them)...

Just an FYI.

Jer

I have been running these for a couple years now. I really like them.

In another thread Jer said that they still make the original Alcoa caps.

Well, there actually was a cap that said "Alcoa" early on, and we DON'T offer that, but the caps that were previously offered (with the silver cartoon snake and the red "Shelby" lettering) are still available. They've been phased out, really, but we still make them for owners who break one or just HAVE TO have them.

BTW, a large reason why these caps are plastic is that they are a pop-in design, and having a hunk of metal that could potentially fly off your wheel would not be desirable.

Jer

Well, there actually was a cap that said "Alcoa" early on, and we DON'T offer that, but the caps that were previously offered (with the silver cartoon snake and the red "Shelby" lettering) are still available. They've been phased out, really, but we can still make them for owners who break one or just HAVE TO have them.

BTW, a large reason why these caps are plastic is that they are a pop-in design, and having a hunk of metal that could potentially fly off your wheel would not be desirable.

Jer