TEAM SHELBY FORUM

okay, so school me on...

JDB

...the psi gage/supercharger.

My gage reads 0 and virtually never moves. Yes I understand it's when you get on it, but I get on it! As a test, on an uphill on-ramp 0-70mph hard, I got the gage up to 3 at best. It's also the only time I hear the supercharger, which even then isn't that loud (not nearly as loud as the multiple youtube vids I've seen, including that in-car at Sears Point). At idle and fast starts in-town I don't hear the whine or see the psi gage move one bit. At idle with the hood up, nothing but motor. I seriously hear the clutch hiss 10x more than any supercharger whine.

So what is it: newbie? useless gage? something broken? should've bought vapor?

The psi gage shouldn't move until you step on it.

I am not an expert but a 30 to 70 mph run in third gear will sound and feel a lot different from the same run in second gear. Admittedly when I have gotten on it I haven't paid much attention to the gage. All of my concentration is usually on trying to keep going strait.

My guess is if you have the time to watch the gage it is because you are in to high of a gear or you are short shifting it.

My car has about 660 hp but from what I remember the stock 540 can kick loose just as easy.

Also I do believe the computer will not allow full hp if your car isn't warmed up or has limited amount of miles on it.

2,400 miles. No mods. Was at full temp.

edit: so I think I got her figured out. My perception of having HP with (only) higher rpm's is off. This is probably engrained in me from driving non-supercharged cars. With the supercharger, she's got HP everywhere. Throttle hard in a higher gear at lower rpm's...that's when the supercharger lights up.

No, the blower does not kick in at low rpm's when you reach between 4000 and 6000 rpm's the blower (super charger) will start to do its job