TEAM SHELBY FORUM

automatic

softy

• 3 months later...

what kind of auto trans does anyone recamend to swap out to?

A 4R70W is your best choice. That way you still have overdrive for road trips. And with the auto you will run quicker and more consistant at the strip.

Heres a link on how I did mine: www.westcentralauto.com/gt500_trans.htm

• 2 months later...

OK, I'm a newbie so be gentle!

I want to pick up a 2008 Shelby GT500 but it HAS to be auto (like I said, be gentle!). I've seen the mod that is suggested above.

Would anyone care to comment on the potential suitability of the TCI 571000 Super StreetFighter Transmission (see http://www.jegs.com/i/TCI/890/571000/10002/-1?parentProductId=757655#moreDetails) and would I be looking at any extensive modifications (versus straightforward mods) to do this?

Cheers,

Dave

• 1 month later...
  • 2 weeks later...

I look forward to seeing what you have done. I picked up the Shelby I was looking at and now, I need to look at fulfilling the condition that my wife imposed on me in order to be able to get it!

The tranny is in the car now, having to work out issue with drive-shaft. Otherwise it is going well.

Pictures soon.

Mike

pinion bearing welded it's self to the pincion, so I had to rebuild the rear end... First test drive with the 4r70w today.... without the locking converter... smooth as silk, with the converter locked... look out. Taking it for test and tune friday night. I predict mid to low 6's in the eighth.

Mike.

That's great picking up a 1/2 sec. Congrats. Did you get all the bugs worked out? An did you lose any hp/tq with the new setup?

Still have a couple of bugs to chase down, gonna put it back on the dyno in the next couple of weeks to see what the hp loss is and will post results.

Mike

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...