TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Clutches

What is the consensus of gt500 drivers in terms of the life span of the car's stock clutch? Just want to start saving up for the day when I will have to replace it out of pocket... Mind you its a daily driver, but won't be beaten on a daily basis...

I can tell you labor at Ford is $600, plus or minus a little either way. Clutches come in a wide range of prices. You get what you pay for though. My twin disc Ram retails for $1250 plus shipping, which includes the aluminum flywheel and complete clutch/pressure plate package. Mine was for a 4.6L but the prices for the 5.4L are comparable.

Just did the whole set-up on mine. I'd put around $2,000 away for the rainy-day-fund.

What about lifespan though on average?

I doubt you can find a specific answer with such a loaded question & all the variables. Ford's warranty is 1 year 12k miles, classified as a normal wear item. I'm no expert but depending on how & where you drive & how much hp you put down: Average 10k-30k miles (I've seen extremes where they last from 1k - 85k miles), from my experience with 450+rwhp cars. From all different makers not just Ford.

The previous SPEC clutch in my car was toast at 1100 miles. Poor installation or defective, I don't know, but everyone points fingers when this happens. I've made my feelings heard here regarding SPEC clutches; basically, as many like them as those that don't. I would never have one installed in any of my cars again. Their customer service is the worst I've ever dealt with in my life - well, next to Time Warner Cable.