TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Buckle Up Mac's

I saw a report about Botnet the other day, and I notice Jeff isn't sounding off about it. Humm? :headscratch:

Jeff: I thought you said Apples were safe? :hysterical:

I have been running Mac's for years. Security by obscurity. Since it is a smaller, (yet growing) market, hackers tend to focus on the Windows OS where they get more effect. Threats are still there and increasing in number but far less than the Windows environment. PS. I am an IT professional with a Masters Degree in Infrastructure Assurance and a CISSP. Not trying to start a Windows vs Mac war. I support Windows in the enterprise at work but run macs exclusively at home and in my personal life.

I have been running Mac's for years. Security by obscurity. Since it is a smaller, (yet growing) market, hackers tend to focus on the Windows OS where they get more effect. Threats are still there and increasing in number but far less than the Windows environment. PS. I am an IT professional with a Masters Degree in Infrastructure Assurance and a CISSP. Not trying to start a Windows vs Mac war. I support Windows in the enterprise at work but run macs exclusively at home and in my personal life.

I work for Dell, and Jeff works for MAC. The "war" started way before now, so no worries there. I agree with you that malicious code wasn't written because of usage numbers, but Jeff claimed that it was because their OS was written so well.

I use the MAC iAntiVirus program mentioned in the article (after 2 years of not using anything) and with its first scan it tagged 3 minor viruses. Haven't seen anything sense (4 months). With the PC I'd pick up spyware trackers and malware all the time. About every 3 months I'd have the PC hang and would have to reload back to the OEM setup and then reload all the backup data to get it current.