TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Interesting occurrence at dragstrip...

stpracer43

Today (and on last visit a month ago) I noticed what felt like the ECM "limiting" the revs (hesitation/sputtering) or a 3rd gear tranny issue (clutch slipping?) while running out the top end of my 1/4 mile runs. Made 5 runs today and felt it for certain on 3 of the runs.

Car is bone stock '07 GT500 Coupe, and I'm a novice driver for sure (only about 60 passes so far).

Not abusing the car with high RPM launches, but do get pretty serious wheel hop when I overpower the tires in 2nd gear. Usually shift at around 5500 RPM (Not powershifting) so my typical runs have me reaching the top-end in 3rd gear, with RPMS climbing toward (but not normally exceeding) 6000 rpm.

I don't have the issue in 1st, 2nd gear after the launch, or 4th gear (if I do shift out of 3rd)...

Appreciate any thoughts from those with more experience in/around ECMs & trannys.

Thanks,

Keith

....clutch slipping would result in rpms surging higher.....if it feels like it is dogging down then it might be the rev limiter (6200 or so), do you have an after market tune? if so, you might check to see where the rev limiter is set on that tune.....I set mine too low (6K) so I will bump it up to 6300 later this winter.....

John

I suspect you are hitting the rev limiter which is set for 6250 RPM. If you are watching the tach and your foot is planted to the floor, by time the tach reacts and then the time it takes you to react it is to late.

It is kind of like getting use to the christmas tree lights at the drag races. You have to factor in your reaction time and hit the gas at maybe the 2nd or 3rd amber light.

Hitting the rev limiter is not unsafe for the car but you do lose time. I would pick a low RPM like 4000 and shift at that point until you are consistently smooth at it then up the RPM until you are as close to the limiter without hitting it..