TEAM SHELBY FORUM

What are you guys using for track pads?

Tucker

I've been using the Stillen Mintex pads on the front and they seem to be very metallic and wear very fast.

I'm told the Hawk HT-10's are good for a street tire car.

I'm not a pro, only been a couple times. VIR full coarce with pretty aggressive driving.

I feel the pedel goes soft after the first hard brake with lots of smell.

Just wanted to see what you all are using??

Thanks

Jay

I've been using the Stillen Mintex pads on the front and they seem to be very metallic and wear very fast.

I'm not a pro, only been a couple times. VIR full coarce with pretty aggressive driving.

Thanks

Jay

Jay

Soft pedal can come from a numer of different issues. If you are running stock fluid you are probably boiling it and if you have the soft pedal feel the fluid is shot and there could be some bad fluid built up behind the caliper. Time to change fluid. Are you running a good DOT 4 fluid? If you are not I suggest: Brembo LCF, MOTUL 600, AP 600 etc. You want a fluid that has a wet boil point of at least 399 degrees and a dry boil of at least 580 degrees. Fluid can be the big culprit to a soft pedal. Are your brake ducts functional in the front. Also, very helpful. The hawk pads are great but you should really consider a strictly race type pad for the track. It only takes 30 minutes to switch the pads out on the Brembos. Another thing that can cause a soft pedal is the brake lines. Highly recommend some braided stainless steel brake lines on all four corners. Personally, I run Raybestos ST43 Racing Brake Pads front and rear. Ton's of bite and gives me the ability to brake fairly late before the turn in. Another good track pad is the Hawk DTC-70 and DTC-60.

For changing fluid, nothing beats a Motive Products Power Bleeder. No Pumping and Cracking. You can bleed the entire system by yourself.