TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Obama plans Guantanamo close, US trials

I don't think its a good idea to bring the terrorists here. If there must be a "change", they should be tried in Iraq where they came from.

http://current.com/items/89512807_obama_pl...close_us_trials

Either way, this needs to be resolved. It's really a disgrace to keep people in cages this long without a trial or conviction. It goes against everything we fight for and strive for as a nation.

I'm curious if he can do this. In the past base closures were identified and approved by Congress.

He can't, it will take congress' involvement unfortunately it's kind of a one-sided affair. I'm not a lawyer but if they move the detainees here we limit our ability to affectively "utilize" them and they may be allowed to have citizen rights. This is why (I believe) we have the confinement facility on other than U.S. soil.

Either way, this needs to be resolved. It's really a disgrace to keep people in cages this long without a trial or conviction. It goes against everything we fight for and strive for as a nation.

Enemy (unlawful) combatants are (within the law) able to be treated in a different manner than U.S. citizens or prisoners of war. Click/copy/paste on the link below for an interesting article that explains this.

“According to Defense Secretary Rumsfeld, the Taliban and al Qaeda fighters currently being held captive at the United States Naval Base at Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, are not prisoners of war, but "unlawful combatants." What's the difference?

The short answer is that a prisoner of war is entitled to the protections set forth in the 1949 Geneva Convention. In contrast, an unlawful combatant is a fighter who does not play by the accepted rules of war, and therefore does not qualify for the Convention's protections”.

http://writ.news.findlaw.com/dorf/20020123.html

http://writ.news.findlaw.com/dorf/20020123.html

I agree with you that they should get a fair trial as soon as possible.