TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Calling all lawyers on this site!

How likely is it that Roe v Wade could ever be overturned? What would have to happen to do this?

Yes, I seriously want to know.

It will never happen. The fundamental issues, as a whole, will never allow for a clear cut clean decision to be made or altered.

er, I'm not a lawyer, but I know how that works. Also, I don't really know specifics about Roe v Wade states (just vaguely what it is about), which is the case with probably 999 out of 1000 people in the US. However, it doesn't matter, the process is the same.

IF, and that's a big IF, somebody challenged some practice that was based on Roe v Wade in some court, they would lose (because there's a SC precedent on the matter). They could then appeal the case to the next higher court. IF, and that's a huge IF, the higher court decided to hear the appeal it would lose. If it was denied on a point of law as opposed to a technicality, it could go to an appeals court. IF, and now we're talking a humongous IF, the appeals court decided to hear it, ya da ya da ya da.

Then, after they lose in the appeals court, they can petition the Supreme court. Now, we are talking about challenging a previous ruling of the court. The sitting court may or may not take the case. They may decide something like, "been there done that, got the t-shirt" and not hear arguments. They may decide, "damn, that will piss off too many people" and not hear arguments. They may decide, "let's put this to bed once and for all" and let the lawyers on both sides present the case again, this time with the context of some history behind the previous judgement.

Very rare for the supremes to even hear a case that challenges a previous court's ruling, but it has happened.