TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Plenum Cover Help

I only use my Plenum cover at shows. I use flat washers to make the clearance. I am not an expert but I driving it that way would be a bad idea. The strut tower brace is designed to sit flat on the inner fender well. Using the washers, raises the brace off the fender wells and I think would put to much pressure on the bolts.

I only use my Plenum cover at shows. I use flat washers to make the clearance. I am not an expert but I driving it that way would be a bad idea. The strut tower brace is designed to sit flat on the inner fender well. Using the washers, raises the brace off the fender wells and I think would put to much pressure on the bolts.

+1 and I was glad to see you say the same thing in the old thread.

Thanks for the reply's. I was mistaken in thinking that the SGT strut brace was the same as the Bullitt/V6!

I'll have to decide if I want to spend the money on a different one, or sell the Plenum cover.

I really like the SGT brace more that the other one, so I'll probably just leave it as is!

post-21656-1222221193_thumb.jpg

This is how I made mine fit:

I removed the two rubber grommets from the rear tabs, which allowed the "feet" to fit over the nuts securing the fuel rail. Then using rubber washers, and nuts that threaded on the fuel rail mounting studs, bolted down the rear tabs. No need to remove the studs.

I opened up the two front mounting holes allowing the front of the plenum cover to sit almost flush on the intake, and reinstalled the front rubber grommets. Then I used the two studs on the throttle body to hold the front of the cover snugly in place.

This probably gained nearly a half-inch in the rear, and about a quarter-inch in the front. It easily misses the strut tower brace now.