TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Replacing Snakes, Letters, and "gas" cap

Hi,

I'm a newbie to Team Shelby and this forum. If I should step on my d... sorry in advance. I am in the process of replacing all my Cobra snake emblems on the exterior of the car, as well as the trunk letters(re-spacing to classic), and the faux racing fuel cap. I'm doing this because I have a red GT500(no LeMans stripes), and wanted to install the 'red' snakes, etc. from the Red pkg or whatever it's called. Already did the easy one, the grill, that took about 10 minutes, I was dawdling in there. ;) The fender mounted snakes have foam tape and what may either be alignment pins there's fasteners back there(I hope not), and I've heard the faux gas cap is a pain in the a.. Any insights, methods and guidance on the best way to do this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

-=-Dennis

OK..................The Fender Snakes & Gas Cap DO have 2 Pins each that snap into the Holes. To remove the Factory Emblems, I always use Bondo Spreaders. Just slide the thin edge under the Emblem from all sides to seperate the Emblem from the Fender but you still have to pop it off so be carefull not to break the Emblems. Do the same with the Gas Cap. When removing the items, some, if not most, of the double sided Tape will remain on the Car. It is easy to remove it from the Fenders since it is small pieces. The Tape remaining on the Trunk from the Gas Cap is more of a Pain & Time Consuming. Just take your Time and be carefull and it will be fine.

David.

I heard that if you heat the rear emblem up with some light heat from a blow dryer and use 2 teflon spatchelas that it comes off without marring the paint.

Thats why I use a Bondo Spreader, they are softer then the Teflon Spatchelas.

PS: He said "Blow Dryer".....NOT Heat Gun.

David.

Thats why I use a Bondo Spreader, they are softer then the Teflon Spatchelas.

PS: He said "Blow Dryer".....NOT Heat Gun.

David.