TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Rearend strength

I'll try and say that an exact number is a little tough but plenty have seen 5-600 RWHP with out failure.A lot depends on how it is treated also,Obviously.The GT500 and Bullitt have a slightly different rear axle assembly.The carrier bearings have more surface contact area than the Mustang/Shelby GT.The 8.8 can benefit from a rear cover support system,But the ones to fit an S197 are a little different thanks to the panhard or locator bar.Slicks and a stick shift will be worse than slicks and an automatic,You get the idea.

I'm not sure there is any difference at all between the Mustang GT and the GT 500 rear axle assemblies. The reason I'm not sure, is Ford's tech manual, the trusty Big Red Books.

I've been using them since 1997 and I get a set for every Ford product I own. Normally these books are very detailed and leave no stone unturned. In other topics, I find seperate sections for the Mustang GT and the GT 500 when parts/features differ. That seperation is absent in section 205-02B, and I scoured all 58 pages. Taking this as a clue, apparently there is only one 8.8" axle assembly, and it's a Traction Loc assembly as well. The only difference is gear ratio, and this is confusing to say the least.

So...I turned to my Ford Racing catalogue for some assistance, and found the same thing. FRP offers two 8.8" rear end assemblies for the '05-'08 Mustang. M-4006-S197 is a complete kit hub to hub, but you add the gear and differential of your choice, assembly required. M-4001-A355 is a fully assembled rear end assembly ready to bolt in. 3:55 gears and Traction Lok included and installed, see page 152 of the '08 catalogue.