TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Autocross Tire Pressures

So I have the stock tires and wheels on my car and I am wondering what everyone else is finding to be the optimal air pressure in these cars for an autocross track. And additionally, do you alter this setting for the ProSolo course due to the drag launch? I am totally stoked for this weekends 2 day SCCA event in Packwood!!! :happy feet: And could use any advice I can get I am new to this.. thanks!

Tire PSI for autocrossing is not something anyone here can advise you of, and have that 411 hold any value for you. There is too much 411 missing, stuff you can't know until race day, and after a test lap.

I suggest you memorize the high and low pressure ratings of your tires as they sit on your SGT, as guidelines. Know when your TPMS will alarm, or set off a traction control issue. Somewhere in-between those PSI numbers, is your ideal PSI. And, I mean to say ideal just on that day and on that track. The next day, or, another track, will require PSI adjustments to get back to your ideal PSI for this event.

Watch a NASCAR race? Listen for how many PSI changes drivers call for, and change tires to accomplish. It's this sensitive, and no one here can call this shot for you.

Best wishes, and happy motoring.

Buy yourself one of those laser aimed pyrometers. Go around the track a few times and then check the tempature of the front tires. Aim the laser on the tire tread about an inch from the inside sidewall and note the tempature. Next, aim the laser dead center of the tire tread and note the tempature. Repeat the same procedure for the outside sidewall that you just did for the inside sidewall and note the tempature.