TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Newbie here: 87 glhs 404

glhs404

Hey I'm new on the boards. I am 19 years old and the owner of 1987 GLHS #404 with 25,000 miles. Its almost Bone stock, only modification being black rims that came with the car when I got it. I received this car as a graduation present from my father who also owns an 87 glhs. He bought it via autotrader from a man in Texas. From my understanding the car sat outside in Louisiana for about 12 years without being driven (hence the low mileage). Unfortunatley in this period of time different parts of the engine developed rust and the paint job corroded a little bit. The interior is in nearly perfect condition though.Once the car was delivered we had to have all of the struts and shocks replaced as well as new engine mounts. I then ran it at the High School Drags at Bandemire Speedway in Colorado. Being a first time racer I bogged the launch and ran an atrocious time of 17.1. I still beat my opponent (a Galaxy with a big block V-8). The second run I once again bogged the launch but ran a 16.7, once again smoking my opponent (a V-6 mustang). For elimnations I decided to dial in at 16.5. I had a great launch and ran a 15.5 :hysterical: Destroying my dial-in time. I couldn't take another run because I had eliminated myself, but I came away from it satisfied with my last run. Since then I've had some problems with the grounding wire to the battery and have recently had some issues with the logic module. I just ordered a Mopar stage 2 performance logic module and am having it put in in a few days. Anyways, I thought I would share the story of my GLHS and look forward to posting! :headspin:

Ive Attached Pics from the High School Drags.

Edit: Im the one on the left in the pic where 3 people are sitting in front of the car. Im not sure why I look so pissed.

post-18913-1202846138_thumb.jpg

post-18913-1202846166_thumb.jpg

post-18913-1202846224_thumb.jpg

post-18913-1202846244_thumb.jpg

post-18913-1202846275_thumb.jpg