TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Took my SGT to the track today!

efrazier

I took my 07 SGT to Motor Sport Ranch near Ft. Worth Texas today....All I can say is WOW!

Let me qualify:

I've been participating in track events since 2000, when I got my first real car a 2000 SVT Cobra R, yes one of 500! That car was actually a bit of a let down, and I paid well over $60K for it! I'll never tell the actual price in fear of my wife finding out!

Since the Cobra R, I've had a couple of Porsche 911's, a C6 vette, and a Viper...(Yes I know this shows a pattern!) All cars that I tracked, and never found the "Shoe that fits", some where either too precious, due to the amount of debt each represented, or just plain lackluster, or I had to sacrifice something for them.

The last car I had a year ago was a Subaru WRX Sti, and to give credit where it's due, that's a great car. It was just too UGLY, and my wife give me a complex over it! :) So it had to go!

Okay so with some foresight, and a little experience I purchased my Shelby GT a month ago for a couple of reasons. 1. I needed a TOY, 2. Ford offered it with Z-Plan (My Dad is retired from Ford), 3. It's offered some exclusivity, and who in their right mind doesn't respect Mr. Shelby! 4. It has a back seat for my kids!

But I didn't just buy the Shelby GT, I also purchased along with it, the Shelby Paxton 1200 SC "polished" kit, the Shelby Big Brakes, and Shelby "American Racing" 18" wheels shod with Michilin Pilot Sport 2's (Everyone should use these in my mind!) 255 Front, 285's Rear. And, yes you're right the brakes did not fit...Only bummer...Though trust me, I can speak with expereince after today, the stock brakes are just fine.