TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Vinyl Stripe Maintenance

Tikigrill

The Shelby I've ordered will be here in a few weeks and I have no idea how to handle the stripes. I'm a bit of a perfectionist with cleaning and maintaining cars but I have no experience with vinyl stripes. Can you polish/wax over them or is it best to avoid them except for washing? Any info in this area would be greatly appreciated. Thank guys!!!

Yes you should put a good coat of wax on the stripes, never let a high power washer near them and they will be fine. If you end up with a problem where they start to come off Ford will replace them free but if you take care of them this will not happen.

Im in the detailing business and have been since 1992. Go ahead and wax them using a liquid wax. Don't was a paste. Keep a micro fiber towel in the truck along with some quick detailer. If you get anything on them spray it with the quick detailer. Let it sit for a couple of minuts then wipe them off. Also spray the micro fiber with the quick detailer before you wipe them off. If you have the matte black stripes use soap and water in a spray bottle and keep that in the truck as well. you can try the liquid wax on the matte black stripes in an area that won't be seen. They shouldn't get shiny. Sometimes they might get shiny depending on the wax you use. If they get shiny then just wash them off and they should be fine. Hope this helps you out.

*note on the matte black stripes. Try a test area before waxing the whole stripe thus to make sure it doesnt get glossy. We have waxed them before and the don't get shiny but will look a little brighter or have a slight shine to them. again try a little spot before doing the whole stripe. As far as the rest of the color stripes. Go ahead and wax away.