TEAM SHELBY FORUM

On the road again

This is the first I've been "online" since last Tuesday. I've been in Seoul since Thursday. This is my first time here and a few observations.

1. Seoul looks like a large American city. I was amazed and in some ways disappointed. I was hoping to see eastern architecture and all there are are American style high-rise office and apartment buildings.

2. They do drive on the same side of the road as we do.

3. There are more SUVs on the roads of Seoul than in the US. I'm amazed. Hyundai and Kia small SUVs everywhere. Hyundai makes some nice looking cars that we never get to see. Including a line that rivals Lexus.

4. Back to Americanization. The roads look just like in the US. Freeways and everything. Heck, the freeway number signs even look like ours. If it weren't for the Korean printing on everything you wouldn't know where you were. Most signs are in both Korean and English.

5. Yesterday was "Yellow Dust" day. This is the Gobi Desert dust storms gone supersized. The sky was hazy all day. It rained today.

It's been long days - I still have time shifted so I'm getting up at about 4AM local time and not getting to bed until after midnight. Today might be different. So far the only thing I've seen is a hotel and office building and the only scenery on the way and looking out of the hotel. Hopefully tomorrow I'll get a chance to play tourist and post some photos here.

From Seoul it's to San Francisco for the rest of the week in meetings there.

P.S. The forum is really slow from Seoul!