TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Bad Police and Government Experience

:lurk: How many of us have had a bad experience with Police or the Government's enforcement of traffic laws that really seemed to "go beyond" safety or crime prevention as the motivation for the enforcement? Before we get going I want to say that I'm a former police officer, I still work within the court system so I'm not wanting to bash the 99% of Police Officers who do their jobs daily in a professional manner. Here in Florida, the State is having a severe budget crisis at all levels of government and the number of organized "traffic enforcement efforts" has dramatically increased at all levels. Radar everywhere, especially in those low MPH areas that haven't had a traffic engineering study in years, Red Light Cameras all over the place, and a State Legislature that just passed a bill creating 50-100% increase on all fees related to the Department of Motor Vehicles. So let's hear from you, and what you think, and what's going on in your state. Is this a trend nationwide to increase revenues ? Is "Big Brother" finally taking over all under the disguise of "it's all for your protection"? What's next, National I.D.s and crededential checkpoints?

Yes its getting worse in Ive heard from a friend that in IL on July 1 they are increasing fines in work zones for one mile per hour over $300 for first offence, they are using cameras and 2nd time $1000 I believe its to raise money for state revenue with the econmy in bad shape. Has anyone else from IL heard about these big jump in fines First area of these new work zone fines is around Effingham IL

I think it's pretty obvious that traffic cameras (Freeway, red light, mobile vans) have nothing to do with public safety. The city of Scottsdale Arizona calls it's traffic camera program "Focus on Safety", what they should have named the program is "Focus on Dollars." Like everything in this country anymore, it's all about money.