TEAM SHELBY FORUM

New Car Issue

CMC

I looked at 2 Shelby GT's today at local dealers both white. They both had a small amount of white overspray in the rear wheel wells. Has anybody else seen this and why does it happen? Also, has anyone removed the tape stripes and had them painted? I think a nice quality painted stripe would look so much nicer. Would this negativly effect the value of the car?

has anyone removed the tape stripes and had them painted? I think a nice quality painted stripe would look so much nicer. Would this negativly effect the value of the car?

I'm no expert, but ask yourself this question. If you were in the market for a used SGT would you find painted on stripes (assuming it's a good quality job) a positive or negative?

From a cleaning and waxing stand point I would think the painted stripes would be less hassle.

I looked at 2 Shelby GT's today at local dealers both white. They both had a small amount of white overspray in the rear wheel wells. Has anybody else seen this and why does it happen? Also, has anyone removed the tape stripes and had them painted? I think a nice quality painted stripe would look so much nicer. Would this negativly effect the value of the car?

First off are both of these cars NEW? If they are it is probably just the factory overspray common on most vehicles. Does it look like paint or buffing compound? With robots painting who knows. And there are a lot of sloppy new car prep people out there in dealerships. There should be a vehicle discalimer for damage if repaired. Ask the dealer. And if you don't like the answer, don't buy the car. Move on to another dealer or another car.