TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Hood Replacement

I am having my stripes replaced on my car and I need to repair galvanic corrosion around the hood pins or replace the hood. I have got a quote for 1200 dollars to repair and respray the hood or the other option is to buy a stock style carbon fiber hood from Anderson Composites. I would put my original hood scoop and hood pins on the carbon after it gets painted. I have read that corrosion tends to come back even after repair so I am leaning towards the carbon fiber hood. I have no experience with carbon fiber and wanted to know if anyone has done this with there car to solve the corrosion problem or knows how much painting a carbon fiber hood should cost. I am thinking I would just paint the top side.

To clarify: its the stainless screws used to mount the hood pin plates to the hood that are the culprit for the corrosion. Stainless screws do not mesh with the aluminum hood (galvanic couple). Oddly enough, the new hood pin package still contains stainless screws. I found aluminum replacements at Home depot for about $2.

I'm not sure if the corrosion stops after removing the screws, but maybe just resurfacing the hood (paint job), and replacing the stainless screws with aluminum ones might be your least expensive solution?

Edited by BlackSGT

4 hours ago, BlackSGT said:

To clarify: its the stainless screws used to mount the hood pin plates to the hood that are the culprit for the corrosion. Stainless screws do not mesh with the aluminum hood (galvanic couple). Oddly enough, the new hood pin package still contains stainless screws. I found aluminum replacements at Home depot for about $2.

I'm not sure if the corrosion stops after removing the screws, but maybe just resurfacing the hood (paint job), and replacing the stainless screws with aluminum ones might be your least expensive solution?