TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Newbie needs help with potential 2016 GT-H purchase

Hi guys,

Profuse apologies up front for being a complete beginner in the Shelby world.

Here's the thing: just for fun I rented a GT-H for a weekend, and I absolutely loved it. Upon returning it, the manager noticed my excitement and told me that these cars would at some point be sold into the secondary market. This was several months ago. Without going into details, Hertz is now holding one of these puppies for me.

But, I'm concerned by two things - first, I'm not an experienced muscle car owner, so that makes me "play it by the book" and check my t:s and c:s. Second, Hertz Used Cars is not an experienced premium car retailer .... (again, won't go into details) ... and there have been a few yellow flags for me.

So whilst googling the current wisdom on Shelby in general and GT-H in particular, I came across this forum and y'all.... hence my posting:

What's the collective wisdom on these? Sounds like around 150 cars, but postings on this site in particular indicate a softness in demand (Hertz seems to be trickling them out and lowering the price in the progress). What's an after market experience here? I'm worried about the somewhat oddball Hertz/Ford/Shelby corporate birthing grounds. I don't know much about muscle cars ... but I do know a lot about product management in other areas of technology. Is it just me, or am I correct to feel some trepidation here?

Another way to ask ... let's say I'm in the market for a $50-100K muscle car, and for whatever reason, driving the 16 GTH "spoke to me". Loved the feel of driving it, loved the feel, felt the choices and design of the interior was just as I would have asked for it.

Any and all thoughts and comments welcome. Especially feel free to point to other threads / blogs etc, I've tried to read the f-ing manual on this topic before I posted, but it's hard to find extensive info.

Thanks and Happy Easter!

See here