TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Michelin death wobble??

blk12svt

There is a thread on another forum about some anomaly with 295 Michelin Pilot Sports on 11" rims that induces some phenomenon called the Michelin death wobble where the car violently hooks left to right and sways back and forth under acceleration and just wondered if anyone on this forum had experienced this.

Supposedly only happens with the 295 size Mich on 11" rims and nothing else. I am not saying these folks are wrong but it's just hard to imagine some inherent problem with a Michelin. I have been feathering the throttle on my 14 for 3 years waiting to get some rubber on the ground and what do I buy...295 Mich and some 11" Forgestars. Don't have them on yet but just curious if others have had this happen.

I've got 285's on the rear and never had an issue. I have a hard time believing this would be caused by a tire unless it was not true/out of round. What you are describing sounds more like someone driving a car with stock suspension who can't control their car. Call me crazy..... I'll be curious to learn if you have an issue when you mount these tires/wheels.

A good friend has experienced it multiple times with his 2013. His only happened at high end speed. The car is tracking just fine and then the rear starts to dance. He says it will make you pucker up. I've read multiple threads about it and appears to only be the 295. I've also read Michelin is coming out with a new version of the tire.

I have experienced this on my Wide body, but only under hard acceleration, and if I back off it settles down. I thought perhaps I shifted from true center on the rear end. I plan to wait and see if it occurres with new tires. I do not have the same issue with my sig edition which has 295's I believe. They are 345's on the WB, but have some wear.