TEAM SHELBY FORUM

GT 350 bad engine

Lenart17

Hi this is my first time on this forum. I recently bought a 2016 GT 350 and after 4500 miles there was a major problem with the engine. Now Ford wants to replace the engine with a new engine. This might be great for a normal car but for a Shelby there goes my car with matching numbers. I never spent so much money a car before but I did so with the idea of giving it to my 3 year old son when he grows up. I expected the car to be a collectible for my son. So disappointed. I wish I never bought it. Ford told me that there is no difference in valuation between a numbers matching car and a non-numbers matching car. Has anyone ever experienced this situation before? How did you resolve it? What would be the difference in value between the 2?

Thanks,
One unhappy Shelby owner

Yes all over the internet recall coming out in December. Fix not till after first of year. Some not driving theirs. Mine is a daily driver and my dealership checked service center and they said it wont just blow off but if bad will start leaking. And to be aware and watch for puddles of oil. Of course not track it (mine doesn't have track pkg. any way) My dealership said to just bring by every week or so and they will check it till can be fixed. I did and mines still dry. And if leaks to park it and they will give me a car to drive till fixed. I'm not to concerned. Not that it isn't serious but of all the people that track these one car it happened and burned up car. But am glad Ford is stepping up to plate even though so far only one car has had a problem.

It might matter in 50 years with restored cars but with all the electronic do dad's that you won't be able to get (just think transistors are just a little over 50 and you can't buy them! Noone will be making the custom SOCs needed to restore of each then.) I seriously doubt the real collectability of any vehicle built today except for the Laura Palmer cars. You know dead wrapped in plastic