TEAM SHELBY FORUM

07Sgt1197 White Shelby Gt Netherlands, Hi :)

Jiggy

Hello International Shelby fans,

my name is Arno, I am 34 years old, and I live in the Netherlands. Ever since i was a kid I dreamed of a nice Mustang, it's my fav car of all time, it just has something that pulls me towards it. I especially like the older models, however next to some oil changing and basic bolting on/off skills, I have limited car knowledge (nor any interest in spending alot of time under the hood, I just want to drive :) ), so soon I realised I should aim for something a bit more modern, to limit needed maintenance/repairs as I have to let others do it for me.

I never got around really buying one though, these cars are quite rare here (a normal mustang already is rare actually) and expensive, our gas prices are mile high, and as a daily driver this is has never been a smart choice for me. My wife of course thinks of it as a Big Boy Toy and has 1001 better idea's to do with this kind of money.

So for years, while saving up, I have been reading, browsing forums, looking for options to obtain a car that I want.

The only option seemed importing one from the states, which I was quite hesitant for as I would like to see, touch and drive before I buy something. There aren't alot of Mustangs around here, let alone a little more special models like a Shelby GT's. In general an American car is already quite special here :)

I decided I want a white one, as stock as possible. But I never took the step to put it all through and import one. A few months ago, one popped up for sale here. I jumped on it, it was perfect, as soon as I saw the pictures I knew this should be mine.

So I bought it, and I will never forget the day I first entered the car and drove it away for my 100 mile trip to home. Needless to say this trip took 5 hours, because when I was close to home, I just wanted to keep driving it :)