TEAM SHELBY FORUM

E-15. Good or bad?

CSX4833

Well, I knew it was coming with living in a corn producing state. The state is pushing E-15 by subsidizing its cost meaning it runs about 0.15 less per gallon. They tout a higher octane than unleaded as well. I've always stayed away from the fuel and hear it's bad for the hoses and burns hotter than regular unleaded.

With all the smart folks on this forum I would like to know the pluses and minuses to using it. Not so much for my SS, but for my M-B SL and wife's Camry.

Thoughts anyone?

Thanks

Kevin

The report from Fox new says CU is saying don't use it all! Ford and many other major manufacturers are saying not to and they will deny warranty claims related to E15. I've been using ethanol free gas for about three months now and am seeing higher fuel mileage as well as better response and performance, although the fuel is higher priced. You can search online for sites that list ethanol free stations.

Found it. Almost all gasoline (95%) is currently 10% ethanol but the democrats and the EPA, I know that is redundant to say democrats and EPA, are mandating 15% by 2014. So again, we may not have a choice and of course the SGT and early GT 500's were designed and made before this mandate was passed so are probably not compatible with E 15.

I have been using 10% ethanol in my cars for many years. I have never had a problem. Another 5% can't be that big of a deal.

I have an agriculture related job, so I am more than happy that our leaders are promoting ethanal use. I guess it matters where you are in the scheme of things. In my part of the country our ecomomy is related to how well the farmers are doing.

But I use 91 octane in my SGT as recommended.

I am glad that farmers benefit, but........we shouldn't be forced to use ethanol whether it be 10 or 15%. It was all done for politics. Studies have shown that we use more energy to produce the ethanol than we save. And ethanol renders less miles per gallon.