TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Used car dealerships and paint

Hello everyone!

New member here. Recently purchased a 2011 GT500 SVTPP Glass roof with 23K on the clock. I've put about 1K on it commuting back and forth to work. It is a blast to drive, I can't believe I've been missing out on this kind of performance for so long. A few years back I had a 97 GT so this is quite the change.

So to my question. I bought the car from a used car dealership in Houston. They have been in business for 30 years, small dealership with just two salesmen. I was very through looking the car over (I used to be a Ford Certified Tech so I am pretty good at knowing what I am looking at mechanical wise). I am afraid though that I got the wool pulled over my eyes in the paint category. I have washed it three times from when I bought it and it just seems to me like, very rapidly there are more scratches and rock chips showing up. Is there anything out there that a dealership can do to a car with black paint that would hide that long enough to get it off the lot? I wouldn't think wax would be enough.

I am pretty suspicious that the 1K in which I have driven it did not create all of the rock chips. They are all along the rocker (where the side stripes would be if I had them). I drive ~50 miles a day out of and into Houston on 59. There is quite a bit of traffic, but the road seems to be free of sand.

I can post picture if needed to see the degree of chipping.

Thanks in advance!

Jay

Whatever you do, get a set of front flaps from Jaeger Bros.

Otherwise, anything is possible - though the likeliest explanation is the tires throwing up grit and gravel. Fortunately, it's something a decent paint house should be able to spray over for less than $500, and you can establish a baseline for how much future shrapnel your rockers take.

Hello everyone!