TEAM SHELBY FORUM

installing factory navigation in 2007 that has shaker 1000 HELP

I want to put factory nav in my car i think. I have a lifetime subscription to sirius and dont want to loose that, but i want navigation. I have the upgraded kicker shelby amp, kicker shelby sub. Yanked out the shaker 1000 great deal. I want to install factory nav does anyone know if this is plug and play i know you can have the shaker 1000 and navigation which that is no longer an issues. Any help would be great. thanks,

Jon

I have been thinking about doing this on and off for awhile. I have the 1000, it is possible with the right install person to have Nav and the 1000, I would like a factory Nav unit, have not found any reasonably priced, will most likely go with a double din and a good installer.

GG

I believe it is “mostly” Plug & Play.

I was researching this sometime in the past and came across this swap in another forum (I believe it was on a GT500). The guy did an excellent job, step by step, photos, etc.

The only hang up that I can remember had something to do with the head unit not recognizing the car (ie VIN). Sorry, little fuzzy on the details, it didn’t affect the operation of the system or anything, just some annoyances with lights and error codes in the diagnostic menu, but supposedly there is a way to “reprogram” the unit to correct all this.

I’m at work and don’t have the link handy, I’ll post it when I have access to my home computer.

Good grief I just went through the whole post, not sure if it is worth it. Need to make sure you have someone like the joint in Chicago that knows how to program when you change the car install. GG

I know what you mean. I'm looking to buy a SGT and for some reason many of the ones for sale in my area don't seem to come with NAV, that's why I was doing the research. After reading that post, I widened my search area. lol

I'm thinking after market is the way to go with a good installer....... GG