TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Driving the Shelby at Sebring (share your on track experience)

gth0007

Just completed two great days at Sebring Int'l Raceway. As a novice, I ran the Shelby GT instead of the FR500S. NASA (National Auto Sport Association) Florida Region runs a super HPDE (High Performance Driving Experience). After two days and 180 miles of track time, you learn real quick that driving and turning fast is an involved endeavor. My SGT is an automatic adding to the difficulty. By the end of the second day everyone is going faster and once you understand the 17 turns at Sebring, it really gets fun. One session was done in the rain adding to the "but pucker". Everyone at the NASA event is friendly and helpful, even when you mess up, which you will. Several of the Mustang drivers shared notes, and from that you will learn a lot of respect for the Mazda Miata as a race car. Our powerful Mustangs and Shelbys give up a ton of time on the turns, as we have to brake, the little 50/50 balance Miata is on it all the time and are hard to shake sometimes. Anyway a lot of fun. Please share your ON TRACK experiences, this is where a Shelby belongs. regards, Larry

You must be going to the Homestead NASA event. If this is your first time you'll find it an interesting experience. My instructor was "Alex" who did a great job and showed patience getting me to drift the car and rely heavily on the brakes holding up. About the only prep I did was to install a high carbon content front rotors and good Hawk pads all around. Homestead is a nice smooth track compared to Sebring so you should really be able to enjoy the event. Good luck and I may see your there. regards, Larry

Drove at Sebring last year at the "Track Guys" HPDE.

There's a link to my GoPro Video found here under "SGT at Sebring" http://www.teamshelby.com/forums/index.php/topic/72323-get-your-driving-on-track-2012-track-guys-event-schedule/

The 95-degree heat was awful, but the driving was a blast!