TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Burning Rubber Smell, need some ideas

Hi guys. My car has a burning rubber smell that I can notice with the windows up and the recirculate air button pushed, though I only notice it when I slow down or stop. I first noticed it this morning pulling into work. Thought it was the truck in front of me. Noticed it again backing into the garage when I got home. The smell filled the garage. Like hot rubber or melted plastic. Seems to be external. I opened the hood and my nose told me it wasn't coming from the engine compartment. Stuck my face right in there, and smelled nothing. Hoses and rubber parts look ok. Did a quick visual on each brake, and saw nothing unusual. I do not remember it handling oddly either, but we had some killer wind today, so maybe I wouldn't have noticed. Tried to look under the car, but you know how low it sits, and I saw nothing funny at all, using just a work light. I'm a little mechanically inclined, but I'm no mechanic. I'm concerned to continue driving the car, so I need some ideas. Where to look? What to look for? Suggestions? When should I break down and take it in? I hate our local Ford Dealers and haven't found a local independent shop that I trust yet. Maybe I'll have to. Thanks for your input.