TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Unsold '11 & '12 Convertibles

melford

Hey guys, I'm really feeling torn at this point whether to buy the 2013 or look for a screaming deal on a 2011 or 2012 convertible growing dust on a dealers lot.

I've seen on here that the 'vert production numbers are MUCH lower than the coupes...that's why i'm wondering how many may be left when the '13's come out and everyone is salivating for one.

Pros for the 2013 are obvious, but then again I've seen a bunch of guys say they think there will be a $10K + price bump.

Excuse a total newbie question that's prob been asked on here a million times... How much can I do to a new GT 500 without voiding the warranty? If they install a whipple at the dealership am I sh!t outta luck on the warranty?

Obviously the 100 more ponies and 90 more lb/ft of twist are the evil that is drawing me towards the 2013...but can I get a 2012 there with a warranty and save a fat chunk 'o cash???

Again, my apologies for the total noob line of questioning, but you guys are the pros and I want the straight scoop.

Thanks- Melford

Trust me you'll be happy waiting on a 2013 instead of settling on something less than you want. You can't keep the manufacturer warranty by having a whipple put on at the dealership but the dealership itself may warranty the work.

The 2013 isn't just 100 more horse, it is a much more balanced car from the carbonfiber driveshaft to the improved intercooler to the improved engine internals, gearing, and transmission internals. Really just watch these two videos and ask yourself if you want to settle for less.

Car:

Engine:

Depending on how patient you are I guarantee you'll be able to get a 2013 convertible at MSRP at very least, if not a few thousand off. Convertibles have more profit for a dealership than coupes, and depending on how you option it there is plenty of room for a dealership to make $$$ by giving you a break from MSRP. There will be 13's sitting on showroom floors just like 11s and 12s.