TEAM SHELBY FORUM

I must be one of the lucky ones

Ron

I must be one of the lucky ones. I have a Shelby GT-500. Just a few years after I graduated from high school, the Shelby Mustang hit the road. I wanted a 67 GT-350 so bad, but I was lucky to have enough money to buy gas for my "56" Pontiac. But I had a car, I was one of the lucky ones. When I got serious about buying a 67 Shelby I found it impossible to come up with the $25,000, but with two kids, a great wife, and a house, I was one of the lucky ones. When I found out in March 05 that the Shelbys were coming, I signed up for one. Not to be first. Just to be sure that I didn't miss the boat again. While some are complaining about ADM,s wheel hop, production numbers, GT500KRs, future value etc. etc. etc. I am enjoying mine!!!! I have waited 40 years for a Shelby. I,m not going to worry what's around the corner for muscle cars or Mustangs. Hell, we don't know what's around the corner for any of us! There is nothing Ford or Shelby can build that will make me like my car less. Sure there will be cars coming that I will like, but my GT500 will always be in my garage. I'm one of the lucky ones!

Yes. You are right. The one's who are carping are SPOILED BRATS. And I mean it.

Spot on. It couldn't be stated any better. Many of us were and are on the same page and enjoying every minute. A middle aged guy pulled up behind me at a red light today. I could see his face and read his lips in the rear view mirror as he looked at the Shelby and said, "Holy Sh**" That reaction will never go away for many of us in our lifetimes. I smiled and drove off feeling very lucky. Driving back to the neighborhood, a young 20 year old gent pulled me over and asked if he could look under the hood. Buying a GT500 equals MSRP + ADM. Owning a GT500 equals priceless.

I've enjoyed what little I've driven mine, picked up 03/01/07 and still about 86 miles on the clock. The most time I spent with it was changing out the axle-back.