TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Fuel Rails & Dash Gauges - 4.6L Install Guidance

Just ordered the Shelby Fuel Rails and the Shelby Dash Gauges(non-supercharged) through the Shelby Parts Thanksgiving Sale. Can these parts be installed by a DIY'er, or best left to "trained professionals"? Anyone install these yourself - and have guidance tips?

Thanks,

If you have the ability to follow directions and turn a wrench, fuel rails and gauges are easy to install. I'm not a professional mechanic, (but I stayed in a Holiday Inn Express), and I managed to install my own supercharger with minimal problems/effort. I installed the Shelby gauge pod as well - finding the correct wires to tap into was the hardest part because you had to be really flexible to get up under the dash!

Did you get the pre-installed/wired gauges version of the gauge pod?

Sam

Thanks Sam, I did buy the preinstalled/wired gauge pod. Glad to hear that this is do-able for a shadetree mechanic. The SGT is a weekend driver and has dedicated garage space, so I can take my time with it. Thanks for the validation and encouragement - I'll post my experiences, as I get the installs completed. I am also putting on the Shelby Cam Covers, at the same time.

Thanks again,

Gary

Gary-

I also installed my dash gauges myself. Like Sam said you have to be a bit of a contorionist to get under the dash for the wiring. It was not a quick install for me because I wanted it neat and clean.There are a few guys here that have done this and can guide you through it. I upgraded my bulbs in the gauges for LED's and ditched the incandesent bulbs with the colored condoms. My kit from Shelby came with an extra length of wires that I found made it a cleaner install. When the wires entered the engine compartment from the firewall I covered them in wire loom to give it a more factory look.My kit did not come with instructions so if you need I set I can send them to you. Have fun with the install. -Kevin