TEAM SHELBY FORUM

GT500 Goodyear F1 Warning Tire coming apart

That is just crazy, I am glad to hear that you were able to pull over before anything else happened. I have heard of a couple of people experiencing problems with the F1 tires, interesting. I'm glad I changed out my stock wheels and tires for aftermarket ones. Do you plan on replacing them with the same tires or switching to another brand?

Not that i am a tire expert or anything near that... but i dont think there is any problem with the Eagle F1 line of tires as a whole. They are really good tires for a mix of performance and street driving. However i doo hope that they replace all four of your tires even though i would doubt there is a problem with all 4 tires unless it was caused by some kind of conditions they all experienced while sitting in your garage, even though i doubt you did anything at all to cause this. If there was a seriouse problem with Eagle F1 tires then you would hear warnings about it all over the news like back in the day when explorers had a problem with their firestone tires. I like the F1s but maybe thats just me, plus performance tires are a bit on the EXPENSIVE side :chairshot: , haha so take the free ones!

I noticed a vibration developing on mine between 55-70 mph just before I bought the new rims and tires last week. Steering wheel was really starting to shudder. I hadn't looked at the sidewalls yet though, just thought it was a balancing issue. I'll need to take a closer look tonight.

As thick as the sidewalls are on these performance tires to prevent rollover, do you thinkt hat perhaps your tire pressure wasn't checked properly during PDI, and under-inflation caused this to happen? If you run a while on an underinflated tire, it can buckle out the sidewall like that.

Just curious,

Check your tire pressure people, that's all that's keeping you alive sometimes!

Peace -

DC