TEAM SHELBY FORUM

:( DTC Codes after Whipple Install

Well, in the past 24 hours, she's thrown P0300, P0301 and P0306 misfire codes 3 different times. Anyone have any idea why after the Whipple install, I'd be throwing these codes consistently? I check them right away and clear and after only 15-20 minutes of VERY EASY driving, they show up again... ?

What's going on?!

• Replies 92
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm far from an expert on this... but maybe improper gapped plugs? odd that you'd get it on 3 diff cylinders (at least i'm assuming that's what the codes are saying...)

They all came "pregapped", but I checked them before install and they all appeared to be correct. Oh and the P0300 is "random" cylinder misfire (or it wasn't able to determine which one) and P0306 is cylinder 6 and P0301 is cylinder 1.... ugh... this is all i need. I feared this shit would happen.

Hmmmmm....take it to the best tuner in town and have them double check if you can't locate the issue yourself. You would be sorry if something went seriously wrong and you did not spend the extra coin with a pro tuner to get it done. It will all work out in the end.

Hmmmmm....take it to the best tuner in town and have them double check if you can't locate the issue yourself. You would be sorry if something went seriously wrong and you did not spend the extra coin with a pro tuner to get it done. It will all work out in the end.

Take a read on pgs 15-17 of the OBD P.Ops Manual here. I see you have a differnt intake than the FRPP Whipple kit was calibrated for. My guess is if you use the correct tube the problems will go away. If so, you'll know you need the calibration adjusted for the additional flow of the JLT. My guess is the FRPP calibration on the MGT isn't leaving a lot of room in the tables since the 550HO tune is at the safe [long-life] limits of the stock 4.6 3V, so if you don't mind swapping out the JLT to see if that fixes it, that will give you the answer, I think. Good luck!